The 2019 CPS Building Services Ltd County Open took place yesterday at the St Neots Saffron Golf Club.

The weather was warm on arrival at 7:00am and looked like being a very warm one for the 63 competitors. It was an interesting field with only 13 of the County's professionals taking part. These included former champions Paul Maddy, Andrew George, and Richard Beadles were all battling it out to add to their County Open tallies.

It was great to see many of the County's most promising juniors in the line-up, as well as nine of the Cambridgeshire County Senior's squad. The course was in as good a condition as I've seen it in many years, with the greens very true and a fast pace.

The first player to break 70 was professional Adam Pike from Brampton Park with an excellent 69. He was shortly joined on this mark by former County Champion Ed Dimambro of Gog Magog and Adam Northfield of the home club, who also led the John Durman Handicap Trophy with a 67 nett.
Close behind on level par 70 were Ben Kerr of Royal Worlington and Andy Grimwood of St Neots. Holder Richard Beadles was a further shot back on 71 along with Danny Loveday of St Neots and professional Benito Schiavi, playing in his first County Open. European Challenge Tour professional Paul Maddy was still in contention on 72 as was County Champion Luke Ryan from the Ely City GC.
In the afternoon round, Ed Dimambro fell away with a 78 for 147 and Adam Northfield to a lesser extent with a 73 which was good enough for him to win the Handicap Trophy and a voucher for £200 with a score of 138 nett. Adam Pike battled away and despite having 5 bogeys, he managed a one-over-par round of 71 and a fine total of 140. This score looked to be good enough as other fellow rivals fell away, apart from seasoned tour player Paul Maddy, who used all of his experience in tricky conditions to reach the final tee box one stroke behind, needing a birdie to tie and to take the Championship into sudden death. This he achieved with relative ease for a score of 68 and a total of 140.

The play off commenced without delay with the advantage clearly with the man who had just finished his round. Adam Pike was just finishing a pint of well-deserved beer!

The play off down the 1st only lasted one hole as Pike mysteriously got the wrong yardage for his 2nd shot and put the ball through the green into trouble. A par 4 was good enough for Maddy to take the Championship for the 2nd time, his last victory being in 2013 at the Links, Newmarket GC.
The best scratch score of 142 and a voucher for £250 went to the back to form Callum Brookes of Saffron Walden GC. 2nd was Luke Ryan losing out on a card play-off and 3rd the promising youngster from the Links GC, George Whitehall on 143.

The best score from an under 21 entry who was not already in the prizes went to Axel Friberg of Gog Magog. There were some very good scores from the youngsters as a whole, especially from the Ely City gang of Rowlands, Guy-Pinkney, and McLaughlin who were all in the main prizes.
The best scratch score by a senior went to Andrew Barnard of Bourn with a creditable 157.
A special thanks must go to the St Neots professional Paul Toyer who went round in a buggy providing courtesy bottles of ice cold water to competitors on a really hot day.

As usual the hospitality at this friendly club was 2nd to none as thanks go to the catering and bar staff for fulfilling our needs during a long and tiring day. Finally to our sponsor James Rust of CPS Building Services Ltd. His sponsorship of this prestigious event is very much appreciated by CAGU and the players as is the financial help to the boys golf in the County.

This year over £1100 was given out in vouchers for the amateurs and £2000 for the professionals.
Next year's County Open will be held at the Ely City GC on Sunday 23rd August.

Full list of prize winners:

Paul Maddy 140
Adam Pike 140
Benito Schiavi 144
Darren Scholes 145
Ben Kerr 146
Jonny Sharkey 148
Richard Beadles 148

Callum Brookes 142 (card play off)
Luke Ryan 142
George Whitehall 143
Isaac Rowlands 144 (card play off)
Danny Loveday 144
Alfie Guy Pinkney 147

Adam Northfield 142 - 4 = 138
James McLaughlin 146 - 2 = 144
Corey Dann 153 - 8 = 145 (card play off)
Andrew Petrie 159 - 12 = 145

Click here to view full results.